What Is The Difference Between CA And CMA?

2 min read
What Is The Difference Between CA And CMA?

CA (Chartered Accountant) and CMA (Certified Management Accountant) are two professional certifications widely recognized and respected in the accounting field. Both designations are highly sought after by employers and can open the door to various career opportunities. However, there are some key differences between the two certifications that are worth considering when making a decision about which one to pursue. Click this to choose the right institute for CMA training in Dubai.

Education and experience requirements:

Both CA and CMA have certain education and experience requirements that must be met before candidates can take the certification exams. For CA, candidates must have completed a minimum of 10+2 education, a three-year professional course called the CA course, and a minimum of 3 years of practical training. Conversely, CMA requires a bachelor’s degree in any field of study and a minimum of two years of professional experience in management accounting or financial management.

Scope of work:

CA and CMA have different scopes of work. Chartered Accountant is a professional that specializes in statutory audits, tax, and other financial compliance-related work. They are responsible for maintaining and analyzing financial records, preparing financial statements and budgets, and providing advice on financial matters. They work for various organizations, including government, private and public sector companies, accounting firms and also as independent consultants.

CMA, on the other hand, is focused on the management aspect of accounting. They work with the management of organizations to help them make better decisions by analyzing financial data and providing insights. They are responsible for cost management, strategic planning, performance management, and other financial management activities. They work in various industries such as manufacturing, service, and healthcare and various roles such as financial analyst, controller, and chief financial officer.

Exam content:

The exam content for CA and CMA is also different. CA exam is divided into two levels- CA Foundation and CA Intermediate, followed by CA Final. The exams are focused on accounting and financial reporting, auditing and assurance, tax laws and regulations, and other financial and business-related topics. The exams are based on theoretical and practical knowledge.

The CMA exam is divided into two:

Part 1 focuses on financial planning, analysis, and control, and Part 2 focuses on financial decision-making. The exams focus on financial statement analysis, budgeting, forecasting, performance management, cost management, and strategic management accounting.